The iPhone is a reliable device; you don’t have to spend time fixing and maintaining your phone. However, mistakes might happen, and you may see an error message or two across your device’s screen.
Sometimes, your phone may give you a ‘Privacy Warning’ when trying to connect to a new Wi-Fi network. For example, when you click on the information icon, the explanation might be ‘this network is blocking encrypted DNS traffic,’ or ‘private Wi-Fi address is disabled for this network.’ The first option is concerning because you might be at risk of exposing your traffic and, therefore, compromising your privacy. However, when you see this error message, you can fix it by restarting your phone and router, forgetting and reconnecting to the same Wi-Fi network, updating your router and phone, etc.
Other error messages may pop up on your screen, and you must know what they mean. Keep reading to find out.
The error message appears in macOS X when trying to sync your phone to a Mac computer. It even contains the number 13019 in brackets.
The error lets you know that your phone cannot sync. It is indirectly telling you that you need to update iTunes.
You can update iTunes by clicking on Apple > selecting Software Update when iTunes is opened on your Mac computer.
If your phone doesn’t sync even after updating iTunes, you need to update the software on your phone. Go to Settings > tap General > tap Software Update.
Your iPhone may sometimes give you a temperature warning. The screen will turn black, and a yellow warning triangle will pop up on your screen.
The warning even comes with a message that your iPhone needs to cool down before you can use it. Therefore, it would be best to leave your phone in a cool place until the temperature sensor decides that your phone is safe to work again. Then, the phone will start on its own.
The error message will appear when you plug an old device into your new iPhone. It might also appear when the Cable or Accessory is not certified. In addition, it may not work correctly with your phone.
The warning appears when you have plugged your iPod touch or iPhone into a speaker or dock system. It lets you know that the phone cannot control the device but can charge through it. If the cables are uncertified, you need to be careful. It would be best if you did not use third-party chargers that don’t meet health and safety standards.
If no devices are attached to your iPhone, it might mean trouble. You need to check for debris in the pocket as there might be dirt inside the dock connector that’s causing the phone to think it is attached to something when it is not. You can use a toothpick to clean out the dock.
If there’s no debris, you must restart your phone by holding the Home Button and Sleep/Wake button for ten seconds.
The error message appears when your phone is struggling to be with firmware. It may seem that you have tried to jailbreak or downgrade your phone. There might even be a fluke chance reason for this error.
Before you go any further, you must connect your phone to a Mac using a different USB port. It might be that the USB port is causing a problem.
If this doesn’t work, you can try resetting or restarting your iPhone.
Error 53 has been a slow burner, and it might have been affecting people as early as 2014. It might have come with the launch of either iOS 8 or 9. The error started making headlines in February 2016.
The error appears when iOS detects non-official components, especially the Touch ID fingerprint sensor. This happens when you have replaced them with an authorized third-party repair company. While Apple said the error message was intended as a factory test to ensure the components were functioning correctly, it has resulted in numerous problems.
Apple has released a patched version of iOS 9.2.1 that tackles the problem. But it will lock out Touch ID if you are not using an official Home Button component.
If your phone appears in Recovery Mode, you will see a simple blank screen with a connect to iTunes graphic. You must use iTunes on a Mac to restore the iPhone when this happens. You must note that the restore process will wipe all information from your phone.
Some error messages might pop up on your iPhone’s screen. Understanding them will help you deal with these errors without panicking.